Resources & Links

What is it like to learn Islamic sacred Arts?

A South African’s journey about learning Islamic sacred arts in Turkiye

Learning Islamic sacred arts in contemporary times


What is the Ijaazah about?

Calligraphy Ijaazah Ceremony with Hasan Çelebi Hoca


Learn about the terms of Islamic arts


Dīn is an Arabic word with three general senses: judgment, custom, and religion.


An ijazah is a license authorizing its holder to transmit a specific text or subject issued by someone already possessing such authority.


One who recites and sings poetry.



Naskh is a smaller, round script of Islamic calligraphy. Naskh is one of the first scripts of Islamic calligraphy to develop, commonly used in writing administrative documents and for transcribing books, including the Qur’an, because of its easy legibility.


Riqa is one of the six scripts of Arabic calligraphy. Riqa was used for private correspondence on small papers or nonreligious books and texts.


‘Thuluth’ comes from the Arabic word meaning ‘one-third’ and derived its meaning from the one-third slope of the letters. It is most challenging to write, and it is one of the types of creative Arabic calligraphy that needs skill in writing. This type of calligraphy needs to be mastered according to the rules and commitment while writing it because it needs much control.


Tezhip is a decorative art form, which means “ornamenting with gold.” It can be used to adorn books, calligraphy, manuscripts, religious texts, or a standalone art form — an art that requires years of practice and dedication.